JAZZPAR Artists - Denmark's Radio Big Band 1990

  The Danish Radio Big Band 1990: Benny Rosenfeld, Palle Bolvig, Lars Togeby, Henrik Bolberg Pedersen, and Perry Knudsen (tp), Vincent Nilsson, Steen Hansen, Ture Larsen, Jens Engel and Axel Windfeld (tb), Jan zum Vohrde, Uffe Markussen, Jesper Thilo, Tomas Franck and Flemming Madsen (s), Ole Kock Hansen (p, keyb), Bjarne Roupe (g), Jesper Lundgaard (b), Lennart Gruvstedt (d), Ethan Weisgard (cng, perc), and Bent Clausen (vib).

   The DRBB was established in 1964. During its 25 years of existence, the band has included a broad representation of the best contemporary Danish jazz musicians. Some important Swedes have been members too. As part of the 1990 personnel, you will find four of them. Also please note that the vibraphone player mentioned above is a specially called in addition for The JAZZPAR 1990 Tour required by some of Muhal Richard Abrams' arrangements.
   Up till 1990, The DRBB had worked with more than 150 guest conductors, arrangers, and soloists, including an extremely impressive list of international top names. Consequently, the book is comprehensive and multifarious. Of special importance to the band was a close collaboration with Thad Jones lasting several years. Another name to give prominence to in this connection is the American composer, arranger, and saxophonist Ray Pitts.
   On this background The DRBB offered fine ensemble and section playing as well as a long list of more than competent soloists: Ole Kock Hansen, Bjarne Roupe, Jesper Lundgaard, Lars Togeby, Henrik Bolberg Pedersen, and Vincent Nilsson - just to mention some of the most important ones. In fact, the reconstructed sax section is bursting with expressiveness. On its many tours abroad, public and press declared The DRBB an outstanding orchestra, not only one of the oldest but also one of the very best big bands.
The DRBB discography comprises nine albums recorded 1970-90, the latest of these being a highly praised Columbia/CBS release featuring Miles Davis in Palle Mikkelborg's hour long "Aura". In February 1990, this record won two Grammy Awards, a first in Danish music history. More DRBB records are in the melting pot, one of them presenting the big band music of Muhal Richard Abrams recorded live and released later this year.

| Back to The Artists - Overview |